New York Studio School

  The New York Studio School and the NYSS Alumni Association present X Marks the Spot: Women of the New York Studio School, curated by NYSS Alumni Malado Baldwin and Maia Ibar. 
From the curators:
     We are thrilled to announce this year’s NYSS alumni show. We have curated a festive, revelatory exhibition and related events to mark the school’s inaugural all-female and female-identifying show. This show breaks the traditional boundaries of painting and sculpture, featuring also video and performance, with a strong variety and differing scales of work.
     Alumni Association Co-Chair Michael Tcheyan commented that “It’s very exciting and appropriate to see this show highlighting the contribution of female identifying alumni who are following in the footsteps of one of the School’s visionary founders Mercedes Matter.”
     Until equilibrium has been achieved in the art world, we believe showing female work to be a necessity. We first proposed the show during the presidential election year, buoyed by a female candidate running for office, and the possibility of a shift in our political landscape. In the aftermath of the election and the #metoo movement, it seems even more essential to encourage equalization in the art world.
     According to the National Museum of women in the arts, 65-75 % of students in MFA programs are women, while just 5% of artwork in museums is made by women and only 25-35% of women have gallery representation.
     Rather than pick a specific theme, we chose instead to discover through the selection process what vital and current work is being made by our peers at this moment in herstory.  We are pleased to announce our roster of artists, performers, and lecture panelists.
Opening Reception: Wednesday, July 25, 6-8pm
with Performances at 7pm by Alice Klugherz, Marie Christine Katz, RJA, & Maia Ibar  
Panel Discussion & Awards Announcement: Monday, July 30, 6-8pm
Panel with Malado Baldwin, Andrea Belag, Joyce Pensato, & Christina Kee
Mercedes Matter/ Ambassador Middendorf Awards, chosen by Awards Committee: Julie Heffernan, Jennifer Samet, & TBD
ArtCritical Prize: Artist selected for interview with David Cohen at artcritical.com
ArtPrize Collectors Show:  Selected for inclusion by Curator Tyler Loftis


For more information, click here!